A Few of My Favourite Lipsticks

So, I had this post planned for a while, but in planning I couldn’t settle on which lipsticks to feature, so I took photos of a bunch of the lipsticks I wore over the course of two weeks, plus the ones I looked most forward to wearing when Spring finally gets here and came up with a small-ish list of the lipsticks I love the most, at the moment.

First on my list are the Revlon Balm Stains. Not even one specifically, just all of them.

I love them. Everyone has reviewed these and everyone loves them and they deserve all the love because they are so lovely and perfect and gorgeous. I probably wear these more often than anything else on this list because I always have at least one in my bag, they’re easy to put on when you’re running out the door, and they last forever. And by forever, I mean, I may have, on occasion, fallen asleep while wearing one of these and woken up the next morning still wearing it (yes I am going to just glaze over the fact I’ve admitted to sleeping with my makeup on. Whatever, you’re not my real mom.)

Anyway, I have practically every one of these and if Revlon ever discontinues them, they will be dead to me. Do you hear that Revlon? DEAD. TO. ME.

Revlon Balm Stains

I basically wore Maybelline’s Colour Sensational Vivid lipsticks all of last summer. After seeing a photo on tumblr of a model wearing a lipstick that I (obviously) became obsessed with right away, I discovered a dupe of it in Fuschia Flash and then the monster was unleashed and I bought 4 5  6 more of the Colour Sensational Vivid lipsticks. The pigment on these lipsticks is great. Each one is just as vibrant on as it is in the tube and they last for ages. I wore Vivid Rose during Eid last year and it lasted through all the greasy Eid food and overly sweet punches with minimal wear. And they are so comfortable to wear and don’t dry my lips out either. Just writing about these lipsticks makes me want to put them on. They’re so good!

Yes, the two I don’t currently own are on my to-buy list, and yes, they will be mine.

Maybelline Colour Sensational Vivid Lipsticks

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the OCC Lip Tars and in the midst of my obsession with neon lipsticks last summer I knew it was only a matter of time before I made Anime mine. And then I did and we became BFFs and went everywhere together and it was great. The brighter the lip colour, the happier I am.

20140316-170515.jpg

I wanted a velvet/matte finish bright red lipstick for a while and after recommendations from a number of friends I went to Sephora to try out the Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stains. I immediately snatched up Strawberry Kissed. It was the perfect shade of red that I was looking for and bonus, it was only $12! The colour is so bright and gorgeous. It’s the perfect summer red. I do a little prep before wearing this (exfoliate and then lipbalm) but it stays on all day long. The formula isn’t very drying, but wearing balm underneath keeps my dry lips nice and moisturized all day.

20140316-170527.jpg

The last time I went to MAC I had a bunch of things to take back for recycling and I wanted to add another reddish lipstick to my collection, which is when I discovered MAC’s Party Time. It’s a burgundy-leaning red in MAC’s creamsheen formula, which makes it really comfortable to wear. The colour is rich and bold without being too outrageous. It was a perfect choice for those terrible, endless days when we were all wondering if Winter was ever going to end. And a new lipstick is always a good way to indulge while you wait for Spring to show up.

20140316-170543.jpg

I don’t feel that putting MAC’s Girl About Town on this list needs any explanation really. I mean, just look at it.

20140316-170558.jpg

I needed a new mascara and that led me to the Lancôme counter because I wanted to try the Hypnôse Doll Eyes mascara (which is amazing, btw) and got a L’Absolu Nu lipstick as a gift. “Gift” lipsticks are rarely good, but Voile de Rose is a really beautiful shade of pink. I don’t often wear softer lip colours, but this one is one of my favourites.

20140316-170615.jpg

As a girl who started wearing makeup in the 90s, I started off my lipstick wearing life wearing weird browns and taupes and then transitioned into nude lip colours and by the time the 2000s hit, I was firmly on team pink gloss. It took me a while to warm up to wearing lipstick again, especially bright, bold colours of lipstick. So, when I finally decided to give lipstick another chance I started with MAC’s Rebel. No matter what other lipsticks come into my life (a lot of lipsticks come into my life) Rebel is always going to be in my top 5.

20140316-170628.jpg

Ruby Woo. What can I say about Ruby Woo that hasn’t already been said? It’s Ruby Woo; it doesn’t need further explanation.

20140316-170646.jpg

Honourable mentions go to: MAC Impassioned, MAC Hibiscus, Dior No. 999, Sephora Collection Lip Cream Stain in Endless Purple, NARS Funny Face, Buxom Full-On Lipstick in Barcelona, and Clinique Chubby Stick in Hibiscus.

 

One thought on “A Few of My Favourite Lipsticks

  1. Pingback: A Long Overdue Giant Haul Post (no actual giants were hauled during the writing of this post) | Always Fabulous Blog

Leave a Reply

