One Line Book Reviews: March

OneLine4

March was spent trying to catch up with my book goal for the year and making up for the time I lost reading in February.

Changeless, Blameless, Heartless & Timeless – The Parasol Protectorate Series – Gail Carriger
I started the series in February with Soulless, but I finished off the series in March and I LOVED IT. The entire series is just fun and hilarious. The last book in the series was a little slower for me, but over all I love this series. It’s full of sass and snark, strong lady characters, strong gay and bisexual characters, immaculate dresses and crazy hats. So perfect! #teamAkeldama

Anansi Boys – Neil Gaiman
I found I liked this more once I had a few days of separation from it, and that’s not to say I didn’t like it after I put it down; I just liked it much more afterwards. It’s really beautifully written, in that classic Gaiman way; a wonderful telling of American folklore.

Cinder, Scarlet & Cress – The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer
Having been brought up reading fairy tales, I am a sucker for retellings and I absolutely LOVE this series. It has so far introduced us to Meyer’s version of Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, and Rapunzel, respectively. I mean, I love so many elements of this series: the POC characters, the futuristic setting, and a lead character who is a cyborg with a prosthetic hand that can shoot tranquilizer darts. Who the hell wouldn’t love that? My only complaint is that I started it thinking it was a trilogy, when, in fact, the last book in the series (titled Winter, based on Snow White) won’t be released until next year. It’s the Grisha series all over again.

4 thoughts on “One Line Book Reviews: March

Leave a Reply

