Things I Read This Week

season 2 janet GIF by The Good Place

How was this week so long and yet I can barely remember what I did during it? At least I mostly keep track of what I’m reading…

On the Web:

Started off this week reading this piece I saved about one of my favourite books, which I then followed up with this and then this

the last unicorn GIF

I mean… 

Let’s be real though, men are the real pain (I’m joking (kinda), but this article isn’t)

When a woman says “I’m uncomfortable” and leaves a sexual encounter in tears, then, maybe she’s not being a fragile flower with no tolerance for discomfort. And maybe we could stand to think a little harder about the biological realities a lot of women deal with, because unfortunately, painful sex isn’t the exceptional outlier we like to pretend it is. It’s pretty damn common.

That’s right: PubMed has almost five times as many clinical trials on male sexual pleasure as it has on female sexual pain. And why? Because we live in a culture that sees female pain as normal and male pleasure as a right.

This actually does not give you any real information on dating billionaires

I didn’t have a chance to go see Widows last weekend, so instead I read this this week

Viola Davis Widows GIF by TIFF

The illustrations are just icing on the sweetness that is GBBO

I want to be Ina when I grow up

She tells me a story about how once she was walking up Madison Avenue in New York and a woman in a big fur coat stopped her and exclaimed, “Oh darling, I love your cookbook!” A block later, a truck driver pulled over and yelled, “Hey babe! I love your show.”

I signed up for Season of Stories and have been making my way through them during slow times at the office

I literally hate that I even clicked on this because now the word “brosectomy” will be a part of my vocabulary forever.

On the Shelf

Still using my lunch hours to read The Mermaid and Mrs. Handcock, which I’m absolutely loving, but I’ve had a busy week so I’m not as far as I should’ve been. 

These last few weeks before the holidays are always super hectic at work, so who knows how much progress I’m going to make in my reading. We’ll see next week, I suppose. In the meantime, I anxiously await the arrival of the last of my Rouge sale purchases so I can do a beauty related post! And that Sex & the City series might be coming back sooner than I thought, so stuff is happening! 

Season 1 Nbc GIF by The Good Place

Until next week!

excited see ya GIF by The Good Place

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.