Things I Read This Week

canadian love GIF by CBC

So a couple weeks behind on this, but with a bonkers work schedule as soon as holidays were over and some ~crazy~ interruptions it has been impossible to give this space the kind of attention it deserves (but let’s be real, I’m not giving this space the kind of attention it deserves even when I am posting regularly). However, I do intend to use this space more, so back into the deep end I go. The list is compiled of a few weeks worth of reads, and the internet has a short attention span so perhaps dialogue has died out on some of this stuff, but whatever, it’s my blog and I’ll post what I want.

On The Web

Full disclosure, I am in a wedding shaming group on facebook. I am in that specific group. Sometimes a girl just needs to snark on some camo-garbage dresses, ya know?

When I heard multiple people say “I was afraid they were Americans,” about this piece, I knew I had to read it. I was not disappointed.

I have loved Schitt’s Creek for the last 5 seasons, especially season 4, which I’ve watched 3, or is it 4 times now? So it’s exciting to see Dan Levy finally get the well deserved praise and attention for this beautiful little Canadian show.

Schitts Creek Omg GIF by CBC
Emily Hampshire Stevie Budd GIF by Schitt's Creek
Pop Tv GIF by Schitt's Creek
Listen, I just couldn’t decide which perfect gif to use, so here they all are

What would have been Aaliyah’s 40th birthday happened this week, which is odd timing considering that the R Kelly docuseries just aired and unless you were smart like me and held on to all of your Aaliyah CDs, you’ve noticed that only Age Ain’t Nuthin’ But A Number is the only Aaliyah available on Spotify. So if you don’t want to deal with anything R Kelly has worked on and you can’t listen to her music because you aren’t as smart as me and kept all your Aaliyah CDs, read this instead and get sad about all the amazing music we missed out on. Speaking of, Sony finally dropped his ass, so Happy Friday to everyone who isn’t R Kelly or one of his enablers.

I am 1000% here for this

So, you read Cat Person when it came out, right? Well, it’s back in my headspace because I read this, and then author, Kristen Roupenian was on the podcast, The Cut on Tuesdays promoting her new book.

Oscar nominations were announced this morning and delightfully, Black Panther was nominated for Best Film! And, to no one’s surprise, but to my sadness, Crazy, Rich, Asians wasn’t nominated for anything (HOW DID IT NOT EVEN GET A COSTUMING NOM?!) when it truly deserved recognition.

This story makes me not feel so bad for Laura Linney’s character in Love Actually anymore because… I mean, read her reason #hotdudemakeouts

I wish more women would write their “beauty memoirs” because I find them endlessly fascinating

Playboy put out a profile on Roxane Gay, so obviously I read it

MURDER. MYSTERY. ROM. COM.

I managed to watch all of Sex Education on Netflix last weekend and to no one’s surprise, Eric is my favourite character (hello, gold glitter eyelids!)

Just… go revel in the photos

I can’t believe Baby, Hit Me One More Time… is 20 freaking years old. Also, I can’t believe it was my brother who owned that CD in our home. Not me, not Fork Stabber (aka: sister), but my brother, whose other CDs were multiple Shaquille O’Neal albums and

baby one more time dancing GIF by Britney Spears

The internet is ripe with the bad takes of men, and since I’m eventually going to get back to my Sex & The City rewatch why not read a bunch of bad takes men had on SATC when it was on the air? Warning: they are Extremely Bad Takes.

pop tv GIF by Schitt's Creek

 On The Shelf

I am currently about to finish Crazy, Rich Asians, my first book of the year. Depending on how I feel when I finish it, I’ll either read the next book in the series or I’ll start the latest Tana French I’ve had waiting since my birthday

So, that’s it for this week. I’ve had non-stop events and meetings since before the holidays and immediately afterwards, so I’m not getting the time to read like I used to have, but hey, I read enough stuff to compile a list–and it’s not even a full list of what I’ve read over the last few weeks! I always leave out the pieces that make me sad or mad.

Anyway, until next week, doinks!

Schitts Creek Goodbye GIF by CBC

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.