Things I Read This Week

Annie Murphy Comedy GIF by CBC

So this week has been pretty chaotic. We move out of our office in 2 weeks and I’ve been helping coordinate that and with the other departments on my floor leaving at the same time (our building is being renovated) it’s a mishmash of meetings, packing, chatting with coworkers about how weird it is to have our departments separated for the next year. Anyhoo, because of all this, I haven’t been that diligent about updating this post. There’s just been so much going on. However, there are some good things here for you to occupy some brain space with.

On the Web

Have I not talked about the Queens of Infamy series on Longreads enough? If I haven’t, here are links to the latest editions: Part One and Part Two of Josephine Bonaparte.

I am obsessed with this piece about costuming on The Crown.

I did not know much about the Mitford sisters before this.

Perhaps we are not all awful and plummeting towards our doom:

At the heart of these shows is a radical humanity — selling very convincingly the idea that while we might all die alone, the key to getting through life lies in the collective. That we must seek help, and we must band together, and keep those bonds strong, even when faced with difficult conditions.

I’m so fucking disappointed that the dude who makes Strange Planet is pro-life.

UGH

I’m real unimpressed with PM Justin rn.

Tonight is the season 5 finale of Schitt’s Creek and I’m very sad because this show makes me very happy.

dan levy wow GIF by CBC

I’m really tired of this faux-concern, argumentative bullshit that implies that wearing makeup is somehow anti-feminist. Like, let a girl fucking live wearing some goddamn lipstick.

I normally do not care about sports. I don’t pay much attention to sports and I generally find their dominance in the trending topics on Twitter to be very annoying. That being said, this was a welcome sports-related thing that I came across on Twitter and I believe everyone should take a couple minutes out to read it. Especially my white readers. It’s a wonderful piece of writing.

This came across my twitter (or was it a facebook group? I don’t remember) and it’s just as good when I read it the first time. I miss The Toast SO MUCH and I wish it would come back.

You know what would’ve been an amazing block of TV? Parks & Rec, The Good Place, Brooklyn 99, and Schitt’s Creek. All my favourite feel-good comedies together. But perhaps we’d have never gotten The Good Place without Parks & Rec first. Like, could you imagine Joan Callamezzo interviewing Moira Schitt? I’m dying at the thought. It doesn’t feel like it’s been 10 years since the show debuted, but it has and EW has a fun slideshow about the wacky minor characters that I’ve had open all week and only just read this morning.

On the Shelf

I’m about halfway through Roar and I’m not exactly enjoying it. The first story was good, but the rest have been… less than good? Especially the last story I just finished. I am not enjoying this, but maybe I’m just not the kind of person who enjoys short stories? Idk.

Anyway, that’s it for this week. For the next couple of weeks I may not be doing What I Read posts, so I’ll figure out something else to fill your hearts during that time. Until then.

Dan Levy Wow GIF by CBC

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.